Frequently Asked Questions

Who are the City Council Members?

The City Council Members are:

  1. Wanda R. D. Williams
  2. Shamaine Daniels
  3. Ben Allatt
  4. Ausha Green
  5. Cornelius Johnson
  6. Dave Madsen
  7. Westburn Majors

How do I get into contact with City Council?
City Council members are part-time employees.  Therefore, they do not have typical office hours at City Hall.  If you need to contact a certain Council Member you can either contact the City Clerk at 717-255-3060 to arrange an appointment or visit the Office of City Clerk / City Council located in the Lower Level of the Martin Luther King Jr. Government Center on 10 N. 2nd Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101.  In addition, feel free to visit the “About Us” link to call or e-mail them directly.

Who is the City Clerk & What does he do? 
Kirk A. Petroski is the City Clerk for the city of Harrisburg.  Kirk is a graduate of Bishop McDevitt High School; he obtained his Bachelor’s Degree in Communication Arts from Neumann University and his Master’s Degree in Communication Management from LaSalle University.  Prior to joining the City of Harrisburg in 2009, Kirk worked as Press Aide/Special Assistant to former Philadelphia District Attorney Lynne Abraham from 2003-2009.   

Kirk provides Administrative support to Harrisburg City Council.  He acts as the Director of the Legislative Branch, responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of City Council by providing leadership and administrative support.  The City Clerk maintains accurate legislative records and performs other services for the body of Council such as legal research, drafting and reviewing ordinances, public relations and he acts as a liaison with the City Administration and other entities.  The City Clerk assists Council in areas such as setting agendas, developing action plans, coordinating appointments for the City’s Boards, Authorities and Commissions.

What are the City Council Committees?

ADMINISTRATION: All matters relating to personnel policy, personnel Administration, Department of Administration, and related City agencies.

BUDGET AND FINANCE:  All matters relating to budget, finance, taxes, Indebtedness, bond issues, penalties, the operating and capital budgets, water and sewer rates and fees.

BUILDING AND HOUSING:  All matters related to the activities of the Department of Building and Housing Development, related municipal authorities, the rehabilitation of the housing stock within the city, matters concerning the Historic Architectural Review Board (HARB.)

COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT:  Matters related to subdivision and land development plan approvals, the federal Community Development Block Grant Program, and the administration of the city’s entitlement of CDBG funds.

PARKS AND RECREATION:  All matters falling within the jurisdiction of the Department of Parks and Recreation.

PUBLIC SAFETY:  All matters falling within the jurisdiction of the Department of Public Safety; the Bureaus of Fire and Police.

PUBLIC WORKS:  All matters falling within the jurisdiction of the Department of Public Works and its related authorities.

When are City Council Meetings and where are they held? 
City Council meets for Legislative Sessions on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 6PM.  These meetings take place in Council Chambers located at the Martin Luther King Jr. Government Center on 10 N. 2nd Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101 (lobby).  Council also meets for committee meetings, which are determined by the chairperson of each respected committee.  These meetings are usually posted on the session calendar a week in advance.